ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by CookieConsent.com About Us | PCF Bank

About PCF Bank

PCF Bank

Over 25 years or so of trading PCF has helped over 100,000 consumers and businesses by providing them with hire purchase, finance lease, mortgage bridging facilities and, since 2016, savings products. However, the PCF Group reluctantly announced that it was exiting those finance and savings markets in November 2022. As part of this process PCF Group delisted from AIM in December 2022 and subsequently started the formal process to surrender its banking permissions to the FCA and PRA in December 2023. That process is currently ongoing. – (For more detail click here on our announcements section of the webpage).

Simon Moore

Independent non-executive Director - Chair

Simon has over thirty years’ experience of the banking industry, primarily with Chase Manhattan, in London and New York, and Barclays where he was the regional director for the corporate banking activities in Wales and the South West of England. Simon has been a director of Cambridge and Counties Bank since its foundation in 2012 and chairman since 2015. He is also chairman of RCI Bank UK, the UK arm of the French bank RCI Groupe, part of the Renault Group. He served as the International Director of the Confederation of British Industry and latterly as director for London and the South of England. He was a member of the CBI Management Board. Outside banking and industry, Simon has served as a governor of the University of the West of England and is now a trustee of the Wallscourt Foundation, which acts to promote the student experience and teaching objectives of the university. In addition, Simon is a lay member of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Recruitment and Employers Confederation and a former non-executive director of the Government Office of the South West.

Mark Sismey-Durrant

Independent non-executive Director - Senior Independent Director

Mark’s banking career spans over forty years starting at Midland Bank. He went on to become CEO of three fast growing and profitable specialist challenger banks – Sun Bank Plc, Heritable Bank Plc and most recently, Hampshire Trust Bank Plc. Mark is currently Chair of Cashplus Bank, a fintech business, where he has also been Chair of Audit and Remuneration Committees and serves on the Risk Committee. He is also Chair of a small Swedish SME finance Group. He is current Chair of the Strategic Advisory Board at the Loughborough University School of Business and Economics, where he also served for nine years on Council, Chaired the Audit Committee, was elected Alumni President and was appointed Pro-Chancellor. He is a former Chair of the Specialist Banks Advisory Board at UK Finance and served on the Board of both the BBA and UK Finance (chairing its Audit Committee). Mark holds a B.Sc Honours degree in Banking and Finance and M Phil, both from Loughborough University, is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers and a Fellow of the RSA. He is a Past Master of the Worshipful Company of International Bankers. Mark is the Chair of the Board Risk Committee.

Garry Stran

Chief Executive Officer

Garry is a financial services professional having had a variety of roles in listed, owner managed, state and private equity controlled businesses. He has extensive experience across financial services with a focus on credit risk management, operation transformation and M&A. Garry’s early career was with Nationwide Building Society where he was a senior executive and a member of Retail Credit Committee. Since then he has worked extensively in private equity as both a founder, CEO, NED and Chairman. Garry was a non-executive director of Computershare Loan Services Ltd for six years including chairing the Audit and Compliance Committee for part of that time. He has joined us from a leading fintech lender where he played a key role in supporting their rapid growth plans. Garry is a Member of the Institute of Credit Management (MICM) and holds the Finance and Leasing Diploma.

Jason McCabe

Chief Financial Officer and Chief Risk Officer

Jason joined PCF Group in October 2016 and is responsible for the chief risk, compliance oversight and money laundering reporting senior management functions. He has over 15 years’ experience in risk management and compliance and joined from Royal Bank of Canada, where he spent 8 years in various senior roles, including the Global Head of Operational Risk for Treasury Market Services and the Chief Risk Officer for RBC Investor Services UK. With Caroline Richardson’s departure from the Group on 7 February 2024, Jason has also undertaken the role of Chief Financial Officer for the Group.

Duncan McDonald

General Counsel and Company Secretary

Duncan is a solicitor who has accumulated considerable experience as a corporate commercial lawyer over the years having undertaken a wide range of M&A and general company commercial work for national and international financial sponsors, corporates and individuals. Over that time this has been undertaken both in private practice as a partner at Pinsent Masons, Olswang and Taylor Wessing and in-house as general counsel at Credit Suisse (in the 1990's), Citigroup Capital UK (in the mid 2000's) and recently as part of Taylor Wessing's general counsel team.

Stephen Butterworth

Chief of Staff

Stephen's main role is to support the CEO and assist the chief executive office with prioritising and project managing tasks and projects, to ensure successful implementation and delivery. Within such role he has responsibility and oversight of the Group's HR and Talent functions. Stephen has over 30 years’ experience in financial services with specific expertise in credit management, leading and executing change. He was Operations Director and Executive Board Director of private equity backed credit management businesses for 13 years and prior to that was a member of the senior team in Collections and Recoveries at Nationwide Building Society

Corporate Governance and the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of 2 independent non-executive directors and 1 executive director and is chaired by Simon Moore, an independent non-executive director. The Board considered the appropriateness of it's composition and concluded that it has the appropriate mix of skills and experience to fulfil its responsibilities. The Board meets no less than 9 times a year and its primary responsibility is to provide leadership to the Group, set the Group’s strategic objectives and to maintain robust corporate governance and risk management practices. The Board delegates certain specific powers to other committees, details of which are set out below.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (ExCo) consists of 1 executive director and the senior management of the Group with functional responsibilities. It is chaired by Garry Stran and meets monthly to deliberate and take policy decisions on the effective and efficient management of the Group. It also serves as a processing forum for issues to be discussed at the Board level. ExCo’s primary responsibility is to ensure the implementation of strategies approved by the Board, provide leadership to the management team and ensure efficient deployment of the Group's resources, including capital and liquidity.

Risk Committee

The Risk Committee (BRC) is chaired by Mark Sismey-Durrant, an independent non-executive director. BRC meets no less than 4 times a year and is primarily responsible for monitoring the integrity of the risk management framework, the defining and monitoring of risk appetite and the effectiveness of risk management systems